Podcasts Galore

Up until a year ago, I had never listened to a podcast.  If anything, podcasts just seemed weird to me.  What is the point of them?  How are they even any different from the radio? I’d always seen the “podcast” option in the drop-down menu in iTunes but never ventured past my own library and the music store.

My boyfriend listened to a few podcasts, and I have to admit the ones he listened to just affirmed my idea that podcasts were full of annoying people who could talk for hours about their opinions, and was just a bunch of people who liked to hear themselves talk. Then I realized those were just the type of podcasts he was listening to, haha! He listened to Free Beer and Hot Wings and the Zane Show… which is great, but it just wasn’t my deal.

Somehow I started to venture into the podcast section of iTunes, stumbling upon so many interesting podcasts.  I became slightly obsessed.  For months all I listened to in my car were podcasts.  When I was cooking… podcasts.  When I had a few minutes of free time… podcasts.  And I went through them quickly, getting to the last episode of all the podcasts I subscribed to way too fast.  Oddly enough, even though they were “only” podcasts, I felt excitement for the next episode or chapter as if I was watching a television show or reading a book.

For a while, I didn’t go back onto iTunes to download new episodes and I kind of forgot about podcasts.  I recently downloaded a ton of new episodes for the podcasts I subscribed to and was ridiculously excited to immerse myself into podcasts galore again 🙂

Lore by Aaron Mahnke:

This is a wonderful podcast about true life scary stories. Aaron explores the roots of fears in the human psyche while telling stories from a historical perspective.  I had no idea, but Lore is now an award-winning, critically-acclaimed podcast.  There is going to be a book series, television show, and a live tour.  Exciting things for Lore! Check out the Lore website here.

Unexplained by Richard MacLean Smith:

Spooky podcast about true life events that continue to be unexplained.  This podcast also explores the human psyche, how we make sense of things, and our need to attach a scientific viewpoint to strange happenings.  Check out the Unexplained website here.

TED Radio Hour:

If you have never heard of TED Talks, research it.  Basically, a person who was passionate about a topic gets up on a stage and either tells a story or goes through a Powerpoint presentation.  Sometimes they are funny, sometimes they are serious, sometimes they are inspiring, sometimes they are demanding action from those listening.  So many different topics to learn about! So exciting! Check out the TED Radio Hour website here.

Alice Isn’t Dead

This is by far one of the strangest stories I have ever heard. This podcast is much different than the above podcasts because Alice Isn’t Dead is a fictional story.  The story follows a truck driver across America who believes her wife is dead. Along her journey she stumbles across unexplainable situations and people, and at times this can be a very creepy, weird, and strange story! Not for everyone, but give it a chance because it’s worth it! Check out the Alice Isn’t Dead website here.

And, of course… it’s May 4th.

starwarsday

One thought on “Podcasts Galore

Leave a Reply

