Exciting Things Happening – Personal Update

For the last two years I have been a group counselor for those with severe mental illness. The clients I’ve worked with are diagnosed with Schizophrenia, Bipolar, Borderline Personality Disorder, and others.  Some days, this job has drained me physically, emotionally, mentally, spiritually, and other days it has lifted my spirits.  Witnessing the clients I’ve worked with growing, learning, and being there for their peers has been a humbling experience.  I have learned about myself through this job by getting to know them. It was a difficult decision to decide to leave, but a new job opportunity came up and I decided to go for it.  I will still be with the same agency but working as an Admissions Coordinator for another program.  I’m looking forward to the new challenge, but as my three weeks winds down, my heart becomes heavier thinking about not working with these clients anymore.  I would have to say this job as a group counselor has been one of my life’s transformative experiences, and I’m forever grateful.

Yoga teacher training is going well.  I am a month or so in.  Tonight I present a little bit on the knee joint which is kind of fun.  Brought me back to massage school days! At times I find myself exhausted with the training schedule (long, full weekends) and I nervous myself with teaching.  I basically wanted to take this for myself and possibly individual/small group teaching.

Andrew and I had a great Valentine’s Day.  It really annoys me when people diss on Valentine’s Day. “It’s too commercialized and pressured and it’s stupid to only love your significant other on one day.” Well, that to me sounds like a bitter person lol.  I think it’s important to celebrate and do romantic things with your partner on a regular basis, but what is the harm in taking one extra day to really make them feel special? You don’t HAVE to buy chocolates and flowers and cards and have an expensive dinner.  But taking the time to have an extra special night I always think is worth it!

 

img_0729
Tie dye roses, rose wine, and a wonderful home cooked meal from my Sweetie 🙂 ❤

img_0735

 

img_0731
First fruit tart I’ve ever made, and it came out pretty damn good! Crust made with almond flour and butter, and filling made with cream cheese and coconut sugar.  All organic berries on top.  It was delicious!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Exciting Things Happening – Personal Update

    1. Thanks! It was very delicious. And yes, that’s a great point! And… what about love for YOURSELF?! Sometimes we forget to love ourselves as much as we love others. Thanks so much for always reading/commenting! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

